Catalog Search

What We're Reading

Who We Are

what's this?
Special printable version of this list

You're viewing 41- 50 of 329. << Previous | Next >>
Not by sight : a novel book Not by sight : a novel
It had to be Riley Jo. She was certain--wasn't she? But when Abby Cummings tells her mother she thought she saw her sister at the store, her mother quickly dismisses the idea. After all, Riley Jo and their father had been missing for years--presumably dead. Yet Abby cannot ignore her intuition. Telling her friend J.D., they investigate. But J.D. may know more about the disappearance than he's telling, or even realizes. And as they work to uncover what happened, all they have to go on is blind faith. Will it be enough--especially considering what the truth might be?

Suggested by Amy

Herman, Kathy.
FIC HERMAN

Jennifer, Gwyneth & me : the pursuit of happiness, one celebrity at a time book Jennifer, Gwyneth & me : the pursuit of happiness, one celebrity at a time
For fans of The Happiness Project and The Year of Living Biblically comes a pointed look at our fascination with celebrities, as one woman strives to remake herself in the image of her favorite stars. What woman hasn't seen pictures of Jennifer Aniston, Gwyneth Paltrow, or Beyonce and wished she had their clothes, their abs, their seemingly flawless lives? For Rachel Bertsche, these celebrities are the epitome of perfection--self-assured and effortlessly cool. Yet lately, between juggling her career, her marriage, and her dream of becoming a mother, Bertsche feels anything but put together. Bertsche embarks on a quest to emulate her Hollywood role models--while sticking to a budget--to see if they really hold the keys to happiness. But can she immerse herself in the A-list lifestyle and still stay true to herself? And will her pursuit of perfection really lead to happiness?

Suggested by Amy

Bertsche, Rachel.
070.92 BERTSCH

The objects of her affection : a novel book The objects of her affection : a novel
Sophie Porter is the last person in the world you'd expect to be stealing Renaissance masterpieces--and that's exactly why she's so good at it. Slipping objects out of her husband's office at the Philadelphia Museum of Art satisfies something deep inside, during a time in her life when satisfactions are few and far between. Selling the treasures also happens to keep their house out of foreclosure--a house that means everything to Sophie. But the FBI is sniffing around, and Sophie is close to destroying the very life she's working so hard to build. She knows she should give up her thieving ways. But she may no longer be in control. The Objects of Her Affection is a riveting story about the realities of motherhood, the perils of secrecy, and the art of appraising the real treasures in our lives.

Suggested by Amy

Cobb, Sonya.
FIC COBB

Come home book Come home
Jill Farrow is a typical suburban mom who has finally gotten her and her daughter's lives back on track after a divorce. She is about to remarry, her job as a pediatrician fulfills her---though it is stressful---and her daughter, Megan, is a happily over-scheduled thirteen-year-old juggling homework and the swim team. But Jill's life is turned upside down when her ex-stepdaughter, Abby, shows up on her doorstep late one night and delivers shocking news: Jill's ex-husband is dead. Abby insists that he was murdered and pleads with Jill to help find his killer. Jill reluctantly agrees to make a few inquiries and discovers that things don't add up. As she digs deeper, her actions threaten to rip apart her new family, destroy their hard-earned happiness, and even endanger her own life. Yet Jill can't turn her back on a child she loves and once called her own. Come Home reads with the breakneck pacing of a thriller while also exploring the definition of motherhood, asking the questions: Do you ever stop being a mother? Can you ever have an ex-child? What are the limits to love of family?

Suggested by Amy

Scottoline, Lisa.
FIC SCOTTOL

Amy falls down : a novel book Amy falls down : a novel
The endearingly bitter writer, Amy Gallup, 60, has happily isolated herself from the world spending the last two decades teaching and reviewing. She has done a lot of thinking, but very little writing. She hasn't published a book in 20 years, and she's settled into a quiet life with her beloved basset hound, Alphonse. On an unassuming morning, in her slippers, Amy trips in her backyard, goes head-over-heels, and into the side of a birdbath. She knocks herself out just hours before she's scheduled to play the role of has-been local writer, none too excited about the newspaper interview she's agreed to give. But her head injury leads her to be interpreted as a rambling genius, which in turn brings media attention and reopens the door to writing. The hospital clears her of head injury, so Amy returns home. When a local reporter shows up for a scheduled interview, Amy is not quite herself. The article paints Amy as a the zen-goddess of writing, publishing, and life. Her bizarre interview was interpreted as the rambling of a true genius. But all that really happened was: Amy fell down! The next thing she knows, friends and fans are coming out of the woodwork. Suddenly Amy is on radio shows, keynoting a major publishing event, and guiding a local writers' retreat. But the strangest thing of all: Amy starts to write. Readers witness Amy confront her past and present, and choose to take down the walls she so carefully wrote up around her. This novel is a mirror into today's publishing world, a humorous roman-a-clef about a bitterly uninspired writer who decides to change her life after a freak accident. Suggested by Jackie.

Willett, Jincy.
FIC WILLETT
The new cast iron skillet cookbook : 150 fresh ideas for America's favorite pan book The new cast iron skillet cookbook : 150 fresh ideas for America's favorite pan
"Cast iron skillets are booming in popularity: they're versatile, they're relatively inexpensive, and they don't have the toxic chemicals released by artificial nonstick pans. Though cast iron was the only pan in grandma's kitchen, these 150 recipes are fresh and updated, from cornbread with Parmesan cheese and sun-dried tomatoes to frittatas, Vietnamese spring rolls, and to-die-for sticky buns" --

Brown, Ellen.
641.77 BROWN
Annihilation book Annihilation
Area X has claimed the lives of members of eleven expeditions. The twelfth expedition consisting of four women hopes to map the terrain and collect specimens; to record all their observations, scientific and otherwise, of their surroundings and of one another; and, above all, to avoid being contaminated by Area X itself.

VanderMeer, Jeff.
FIC VANDERM
The story of Owen : dragon slayer of Trondheim Teen Book The story of Owen : dragon slayer of Trondheim
In an alternate world where industrialization has caused many species of carbon-eating dragons to thrive, Owen, a slayer being trained by his famous father and aunt, and Siobahn, his bard, face a dragon infestation near their small town in Canada.

Johnston, E. K., author.
TEEN JOHNSTO
Sweet Paul eat & make : charming recipes + kitchen crafts you will love book Sweet Paul eat & make : charming recipes + kitchen crafts you will love
"It began as a little blog highlighting the recipes and crafts of the Norwegian-born food and prop stylist Paul Lowe. Six years later, Sweet Paul is an online magazine followed by millions and a print quarterly sold nationwide in specialty stores. Praised by the New York Times as " a trove of seasonal delights," it is turning heads with its easy, elegant food and style-setting aesthetic.Divided into Morning, Brunch, Noon, and Night, with color palettes to match, Sweet Paul Eat and Make includes breakfast dishes like Morning Biscuits with Cheddar, Dill, and Pumpkin Seeds and brunches like Smoked Salmon Hash with Scallions, Dill, and Eggs. For lunch, there's a super-quick Risotto with Asparagus, and for dinner, Maple-Roasted Chicken and a stunning Norwegian specialty, World's Best Cake. Rustically chic craft projects--paper flowers made out of coffee filters, a vegetable-dyed tablecloth, and a trivet from wooden clothespins--will captivate even those who are all thumbs"--

Lowe, Paul, 1966-
641.5 LOWE
Clariel : The Lost Abhorsen Teen Book Clariel : The Lost Abhorsen
Clariel is the daughter of one of the most notable families in the Old Kingdom, with blood relations to the Abhorsen and, most importantly, to the King. When her family moves to the city of Belisaere, there are rumors that her mother is next in line for the throne. However, Clariel wants no part of it--a natural hunter, all she ever thinks about is escaping the city's confining walls and journeying back to the quiet, green world of the Great Forest. But many forces conspire against Clariel's dream. A dangerous Free Magic creature is loose in the city, her parents want to marry her off to a killer, and there is a plot brewing against the old and withdrawn King Orrikan. When Clariel is drawn into the efforts to find and capture the creature, she finds hidden sorcery within herself, yet it is magic that carries great dangers. Can she rise above the temptation of power, escape the unwanted marriage, and save the King? In Clariel, New York Times bestselling author Garth Nix weaves a story that is as rich and compelling as the original Abhorsen novels. Clariel, prelude to the Abhorsen trilogy, is set approximately six hundred years before the birth of Sabriel. Devoted Old Kingdom fans and new readers alike will clamor for this epic fantasy adventure.

Nix, Garth
TEEN NIX
You're viewing 41- 50 of 329. << Previous | Next >>

Sno-Isle Libraries: Connecting people, ideas and culture


Sno-Isle Libraries Administrative & Service Center, 7312 35th Ave NE, Marysville, WA 98271-7417
360-651-7000 (local) • 877-766-4753 (toll free) • 360-651-7151 (fax)

©2014 Sno-Isle Libraries