Catalog Search

What We're Reading

Who We Are

what's this?
Special printable version of this list

You're viewing 1- 10 of 296. Previous | Next >>

What We're Reading


The all-girl filling station's last reunion : a novel book The all-girl filling station's last reunion : a novel
Spanning decades, generations, and America in the 1940s and today, this novel is a fun-loving mystery about an Alabama woman today, and five women who in 1943 worked in a Phillips 66 gas station, during the WWII years. Mrs. Sookie Poole of Point Clear, Alabama, has just married off the last of her three daughters and is looking forward to relaxing and perhaps traveling with her husband, Earle. The only thing left to contend with now is her mother, the formidable and imposing Lenore Simmons Krackenberry, never an easy task. Lenore may be a lot of fun for other people, but is, for the most part, an overbearing presence for her daughter. Then one day, quite by accident, Sookie discovers a shocking secret about her mother's past that knocks her for a loop and suddenly calls into question everything she ever thought she knew about herself, her family, and her future. This is a riveting, fun story of two families, set in both present day America and during World War II, filled with the author's trademark funny voice and storytelling magic. -- Provided by publisher.

Suggested by Ruth

Flagg, Fannie.
FIC FLAGG

Past tense : a Sloan and Crosby mystery book Past tense : a Sloan and Crosby mystery
When a young girl's murder is linked to the recent death of a woman named Josephine Short, DCI Sloan and Constable Crosby research dubious elements of Short's life in the hopes of identifying the child's killer.

suggested by Ruth

Aird, Catherine.
FIC AIRD

The birth of Korean cool : how one nation is conquering the world through pop culture book The birth of Korean cool : how one nation is conquering the world through pop culture
"Recounts how South Korea vaulted itself into the twenty-first century, becoming a global leader in business, technology, education, and pop culture. Featuring ... reporting and numerous interviews with Koreans working in all areas of government and society, Euny Hong reveals how a really uncool country became cool, and how a nation that once banned mini-skirts, long hair on men, and rock 'n' roll could come to mass produce boy bands, soap operas, and the world's most popular smartphone"

Suggested by Ruth

Hong, Y. Euny, author.
306.0951 HONG

Something borrowed, someone dead book Something borrowed, someone dead
Hired by the Parish councilor of a small community in the Cotswold Hills to investigate the murder of a jolly widow, Agatha Raisin learns about the victim's penchant for keeping borrowed items in a case that is complicated by village secrets and a killer who would make Agatha a next target.

Suggested by Ruth

Beaton, M. C.
FIC BEATON

The husband's secret book The husband's secret
Discovering a tattered letter that says she is to open it only in the event of her husband's death, Cecelia, a successful family woman, is unable to resist reading the letter and discovers a secret that shatters her life and the lives of two other women. By the author of What Alice Forgot.

Suggested by Ruth

Moriarty, Liane.
FIC MORIART

A place called Hope : a novel book A place called Hope : a novel
When Quaker Pastor Sam Gardner is asked by the ill Unitarian minister to oversee a wedding in his place, Sam naturally agrees. It's not until the couple stands before him that he realizes they're two women. In the tempest of strong opinions and misunderstandings that follows the incident, Sam faces potential unemployment. Deeply discouraged, he wonders if his pastoral usefulness has come to an end. Perhaps it's time for a change. After all, his wife has found a new job at the library, his elder son is off to college, and the younger has decided to join the military once he graduates high school. Sam is contemplating a future selling used cars when he receives a call from a woman in the suburban town of Hope, Indiana. It seems Hope Friends Meeting is in desperate need of a pastor. Though they only have twelve members, they also have a beautiful meetinghouse and a pie committee (Sam is fond of pie). But can he really leave his beloved hometown of Harmony.

Suggested by Ruth

Gulley, Philip.
FIC GULLEY

Sweetshop of dreams : a novel with recipes book Sweetshop of dreams : a novel with recipes
Rosie Hopkins's life is...comfortable. She has a steady nursing job, a nice apartment, and Gerard, her loyal (if a bit boring) boyfriend. And even though she might like to pursue a more rewarding career, and Gerard doesn't seem to have any plans to propose, Rosie's not complaining. But life gets a bit more interesting when Rosie's mother sends her out to the country to care for her ailing great aunt Lilian, who owns an old-fashioned sweetshop. But as Rosie gets Lillian back on her feet, breathes new life into the candy shop, and gets to know the mysterious and solitary Stephen--whose family seems to own the entire town--she starts to think that settling for what's comfortable might not be so great after all.

Suggested by Amy

Colgan, Jenny, author.
FIC COLOGAN

Not by sight : a novel book Not by sight : a novel
It had to be Riley Jo. She was certain--wasn't she? But when Abby Cummings tells her mother she thought she saw her sister at the store, her mother quickly dismisses the idea. After all, Riley Jo and their father had been missing for years--presumably dead. Yet Abby cannot ignore her intuition. Telling her friend J.D., they investigate. But J.D. may know more about the disappearance than he's telling, or even realizes. And as they work to uncover what happened, all they have to go on is blind faith. Will it be enough--especially considering what the truth might be?

Suggested by Amy

Herman, Kathy.
FIC HERMAN

Jennifer, Gwyneth & me : the pursuit of happiness, one celebrity at a time book Jennifer, Gwyneth & me : the pursuit of happiness, one celebrity at a time
For fans of The Happiness Project and The Year of Living Biblically comes a pointed look at our fascination with celebrities, as one woman strives to remake herself in the image of her favorite stars. What woman hasn't seen pictures of Jennifer Aniston, Gwyneth Paltrow, or Beyonce and wished she had their clothes, their abs, their seemingly flawless lives? For Rachel Bertsche, these celebrities are the epitome of perfection--self-assured and effortlessly cool. Yet lately, between juggling her career, her marriage, and her dream of becoming a mother, Bertsche feels anything but put together. Bertsche embarks on a quest to emulate her Hollywood role models--while sticking to a budget--to see if they really hold the keys to happiness. But can she immerse herself in the A-list lifestyle and still stay true to herself? And will her pursuit of perfection really lead to happiness?

Suggested by Amy

Bertsche, Rachel.
070.92 BERTSCH

The objects of her affection : a novel book The objects of her affection : a novel
Sophie Porter is the last person in the world you'd expect to be stealing Renaissance masterpieces--and that's exactly why she's so good at it. Slipping objects out of her husband's office at the Philadelphia Museum of Art satisfies something deep inside, during a time in her life when satisfactions are few and far between. Selling the treasures also happens to keep their house out of foreclosure--a house that means everything to Sophie. But the FBI is sniffing around, and Sophie is close to destroying the very life she's working so hard to build. She knows she should give up her thieving ways. But she may no longer be in control. The Objects of Her Affection is a riveting story about the realities of motherhood, the perils of secrecy, and the art of appraising the real treasures in our lives.

Suggested by Amy

Cobb, Sonya.
FIC COBB

You're viewing 1- 10 of 296. Previous | Next >>

At the moment that we persuade a child, any child, to cross that threshold,
that magic threshold into a library, we change their lives forever, for the better.
- Barack Obama


Sno-Isle Libraries Administrative & Service Center, 7312 35th Ave NE, Marysville, WA 98271-7417
360-651-7000 (local) • 877-766-4753 (toll free) • 360-651-7151 (fax)

©2014 Sno-Isle Libraries